Cabin Loner

I stood behind the tree. Distanced from a cabin in the wilderness. I watched a man chopping his woods for a while now. He is tall, body fit for a hunter, fair skin, and with a gray beard.

He picked up the bundle of chopped woods and walked inside the cabin. Snow starts to fall, I move closer towards the window.

He picked up some chopped woods to kindle the fire. He sat in his old yellow sofa in front of the fireplace while sipping his cup of hot beverage.

It’s quite some time now, he just sat there watching the fire burning the woods, as always.

***

The snow is getting heavier. As I walk towards the front door of the cabin I saw two silhouettes of traveler. As they get closer, I am now sure that it is a man and a woman covered with thick clothes, carrying a large back packs.

They’re getting closer to the front door. I hurriedly hide at the side and watched them as they knock vigorously at the door.

They waited for a while and knocked again.

It took sometime under the cold breeze until the tall man opened the door looked at them without saying anything.

“May we stay for a while until the weather subside, please” Said the man while pointing to the woman’s hand placed on her stomach.

I can not hear their conversation anymore as the wind blew loudly and aggressively. The man let them inside and I watched from the window in the porch.

The two took off their clothes covered in snow. They were conversing and the two man shook hands.

I can’t hear them. The cabin is big but I found my way inside. It has three rooms and a big kitchen.

I try my best to be as quiet as possible as I walk towards the living room, I passed by the kitchen and heard the two man talking. I sneaked a peak to wait for a moment I can pass by freely.

I watched them closely and listened.

“I am Lucas by the way and thank you for letting us stay, we don’t mean to bother you” he said to the tall man making a hot drink.

“Thank you…” he received the cup of hot drink from the tall man. “We are actually from the island far north east from here” He looked at his compass as the tall man standing in front of him sipping his coffee.

“Anyways, that town doesn’t really offer much anymore, and with my wife’s condition we can no longer afford to stay there” he continued. “I assure you after this storm we’ll be off”

The tall man was just nodding to everything Lucas said.

Their conversation fade as I crawl hurriedly and carefully to the living room, making no sound as possible, I saw the lady sleeping on the sofa. She must be tired.

I lay in front of the fireplace and watched the fire burn until I fell into slumber.

***

“aaaaaaagh!!!!…Lucaaas!”

I woke up startled by the woman’s shout and scream and hastily looked for a place to hide.

Lucas and the tall man came. The room started to covered with panic. I was so scared and rushed out the front door. Cold wind gushed inside causing more panic.

The tall man rush to the door, standing for a while looking and shut it. I hope he didn’t saw me.

I run at the side of the cabin. All I can hear was the loud scream of the woman.

Suddenly, the woman’s scream stopped and was replaced by a tiny cry. I peaked at the window and saw a little human in Lucas’ arm.

The tall man was in silence, his face full of emotion that I haven’t seen before.

I rushed my way in and sneaked to the living room.

“You can stay here as long as you want” the tall man said for the first time.

That little human urged him to accept new company. I’m happy for him. I danced happily and…carelessly.

“What was that?!” Lucas said cautiously. I stopped dancing and hide.

The tall man came closer and picked up the shattered picture frame that I knocked over. He looked at it and said, “It’s my sister, I hope she’s happy now. Rest in peace now”


While browsing the internet I discovered this site that generates words (randomwordgenerator.com). So, I came up with an idea to write a short story from it and to challenge myself .

***

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑